Cacadu District Municipality

Welcome to the Cacadu District Municipality  - Siya namkela nonke - Welkom

The Cacadu District Municipality is one of 46 district municipalities in South Africa. Covering 34% of the entire Eastern Cape Province's geographical footprint, the Cacadu District is the largest of the district municipalities in the Eastern Cape and wholly surrounds Nelson Mandela Bay. The Cacadu District Municipality assists 9 Local Municipalities in providing the services needed by their communities.

The Municipality is headed by Executive Mayor, Cr Khunjuzwa Eunice Kekana and Speaker, Cr Deon de Vos.

  • Executive Mayor of the Cacadu District Municipality, Cllr Kekana, congratulates the Mayor of Baviaans Local Municipality, Cllr Loock, on receiving the new fire truck.
  • Executive Mayor Kekana admiring the products at a silk museum in China.
  • Benefitting from the successful agricultural mentorship programme of the Cacadu District Municipality is Mr Lamani from the Lamani Family Trust in Ndlambe.
  • Municipal Manager, Ted Pillay, and Executive Mayor Kekana in China during a recent trade and investment focused visit.
  • It is with deep sadness that the Cacadu District Municipality learnt of the passing of the father of South Africa’s democracy –Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela.


Community greening project In order to create awareness about fruit and vegetable gardening amongst the residents of Thornhill and surrounding areas, in the Kouga Local Municipality, a non-governmental organization called Project Preparation Trust is currently assisting about 215 households with planting trees in their backyards.

District forum launched for Cacadu businesses

A new district-wide forum for businesses, the Cacadu Business Development Forum, (CBDF) was recently launched in Kirkwood, in the Sundays River Valley Local Municipality.